The Digital Health All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) has been formed to promote the benefits of successfully harnessing digital health technologies and data for the NHS, patients and the wider UK economy.

The group will be chaired by Watford MP Dean Russell and will comprise MPs, along with senior leaders in health and technology. Other than Russell, its officers will be Anne Marie Morris MP, Greg Smith MP and Lord Hunt of Kings Heath. Secretariat services will be provided by health-tech industry association the Association of British HealthTech Industries (ABHI).

Digital health is the largest subsector of healthcare in the UK, with close to 13,000 employees and annual turnover of £1.7 billion. This is despite its relative youth as a healthcare sector, with 63 per cent of its businesses being formed in the last ten years.

APPG Chair Dean Russell MP commented: “There is no doubt that data and the use of digital technologies is a significant driving force in shaping today’s society and economy. The take-up of such solutions in response to the COVID pandemic has further demonstrated this.”

“I look forward to the APPG connecting parliamentarians with the health system, industry, academia, third sector organisations and civil society, so that collectively, we can shape a safe and trustworthy framework that will benefit patients and establish the UK as a home for digital health excellence.”

Contact us


Tel: +44 (0)1424 777745

Fax: +44 (0)1424 777746



Kirkham Young Ltd.
The Old Court House
North Trade Road
East Sussex
TN33 0EX